After months of informational interviews, sending out what seemed like hundreds of résumés and cover letters, participating in #jobhunt chat on Twitter and searching daily on every job site known to man, I was left looking at my email inbox wondering if anyone, anywhere would ever email me back.

This past Wednesday I found out that I will be the new press intern for Oregon’s senior senator, Senator Ron Wyden on Capitol Hill!! This is for me a DREAM and also an honor to serve my country and my state.  I will be the only intern in the press office and will be writing speeches, helping with social media for the office, researching public policy issues and doing some media relations. I am beyond ecstatic and can’t believe that this is really happening to me. It’s no secret that I hold the firm opinion that Oregon is the greatest and most beautiful state in the union. I look forward to joining the press team and learning as much as I possibly can.

This summer I will be blogging about my internship and will continue to share the lessons that I learn in this industry. Just like on the old site, I will continue your favorite series including, “Lessons Learned.” Hopefully you will enjoy these posts and will also find them educational. This is an area of PR that I have much to learn.

I’m not going to lie. I’m terrified. I’ve always lived in Oregon and I have no idea what it’s like to be away from home. This is a huge leap of faith for me, but when you’re offered your dream job, you have to say yes. There will no doubt be tears. I am looking forward to this journey and I hope you’ll join me!

For those of you still in job hunt mode, HANG IN THERE!! I know it’s rough and it seems like nothing will ever come your way. My advice is remain confident and be politely persistent.