I have moved home from college now and have some time before I move east. Living at home always means dinner parties with my parents friends, which is actually a wonderful thing and something I enjoy. When discussing my post college plans, each person has had a similar response, “How did that happen? Tell me the story!”

Young and old, people love stories. According to Chip Heath and Dan Heath, authors of Made to Stick, a story’s “power is twofold: It provides simulation (knowledge about how to act) and inspiration (motivation to act). Note that both benefits, simulation and inspiration, are geared to generating action.”

Stories can come in every shape and size and can entertain and compel people of every age. As communicators, we should be using stories to connect with our audience. With today’s technology, there are a plethora of tools that you can use to capture these stories such as podcasts, blogs or videos.

Think of the last story you heard. What was it about? What was compelling about it? Consider how you can utilize the power of a story to communicate your message more effectively.