Some people find making a choice to be stressful. Where should I go on vacation? What color should I paint my living room? Which dress should I wear to graduation? I’ll admit, I’ve never struggled with this. I am a very decisive person, maybe too decisive. I do however have several friends who struggle when making the most menial decisions.

Chip Heath and Dan Heath, authors of Switch discuss this idea, referencing Barry Schwartz, author of The Paradox of Choice, that when faced with a mountain of choices, “we become overloaded. Choice no longer liberates, it debilitates. It might even be said to tyrannize.”

Chip and Dan find that most of us live our lives on autopilot. What throws a wrench in the cruse control of our lives is change. Ultimately, this “change brings new choices that create uncertainty.”

So how can we experience the freedom of making choices? According to Dan and Chip, “Any successful change requires a translation of ambiguous goals into concrete behaviors. In short, to make a switch, you need to script the critical moves.”

Are there any changes coming up in your life personally? What choices will come along with that change?

When applying this principle to a business plan, think of changes within the company and the subsequent choices that will follow. Next, sit down with a team and “script the critical moves” you’ll need to take in order to be successful.