Tags

, , , , , ,

Photo from Getty Images

Good morning readers! I’ve been seeing an awful lot of tweets and Facebook posts from all of you lying around your houses on vacation. In an effort to inspire continual learning and trump laziness, I thought I’d share with you what I’ve been reading and what’s been on my radar lately. P.S. I’ve decided I was born in the wrong decade. Wish I was 22 in the 1950s. Sigh. Onto my list…

The National Retail Federation predicts spending this holiday season, Nov. 1 through Dec. 31, reached $451.5 billion. Read the story from NPR here. Woof. Makes me sick considering $10 billion solves the world water crisis, according to Advent Conspiracy.

The top social media and marketing books of 2010. Enjoy.

Lilly Pulitzer (my second obsession after Duck Football) was sold for $60 million last Wednesday to Oxford Industries. Not surprisingly, the SM world exploded with concern that the quality of the brand would suffer.
Unfortunately it took LP until the next morning to clear the air, posting the above message on its Facebook page. Sure would have been nice to hear the announcement straight from LP in the first place.

Oregon Senator (and my former boss) Ron Wyden left the hospital early following his surgery for his prostate cancer to vote on the nuclear arms treaty. The 2010, “Way to be Back at Your Desk” award goes to Sen. Ron Wyden.

Yippee for new blogs! I have recently discovered the following blogs that are quickly turning into favorite lunch break reads:
The Little Things we Do
Urban Weeds
Cupcakes and Cashmere
Mrs.Lilien

Speaking of blogs…a personal shameless plug. Very excited to have posted my first blog on the CMD Agency blog, Back Deck. Be sure to head over and check it out!

The Fundamentals of Sailing. I have no problem admitting that I don’t want to read this book. My parents have decided to purchase a sailboat this summer, so as of yesterday, all three of us are signed up for sailing classes. Part of taking the class is taking an exam, which covers the contents of this book. If I want to sail, I have to read the book, take the class and take the exam. And I thought my days as a test taker were over. No such luck. I guess as long as I get to wear this, it could be OK.