Better late than never, right? Apologies dear readers for the delay. I was ill this weekend. Hope you’ll forgive and continue reading…

“My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.” -George Washington

My mother, Lisbeth, was born in Copenhagen, Denmark. In 1965 my mother immigrated to The United States with her family. They were the first in the family to ever leave Denmark. They came in search of the “American Dream.”

Sadly, life wasn’t always easy for my mother. At the end of second grade, her parents separated and she moved back to Denmark with her mom and sister to live with her grandmother in Copenhagen. She went to third, fourth and seventh grade in Denmark. In short I will say that my mother had a very difficult childhood and was forced to grow up very quickly. Each time I recall the story, I am once again struck by her tenacity and strength through challenging circumstances. By the time she graduated high school, she had attended thirteen different schools. In 1977, she moved back to the states for good and lived in southern California where she met my father. In 1981, they were married. She was 19 years old.

I recently asked my mother how she got through it all and turned out to be such a wonderfully loving wife and mother. Her response was simple, “By the love and grace of God.”

My mother is amazing and today (and every day for that matter) I honor her. She is sweet, kind, thoughtful, generous, caring, the best doctor mom ever, selfless…ok, let’s be real, there are not enough words in the dictionary. We could be here all day. I am blessed beyond words to have her as my mother. Jeg elsker dig Mor! (“I love you Mom,” in Danish.)

Hope everyone had a wonderful Mother’s Day and loved on their mama!