Tags

, , , , ,

Actually left the house for something other than a doctor’s appointment last week and went to see The Help.

Disclaimer: I may or may not have taken some significant pain medication and worn a thermacare heat wrap. However, getting out of the house and seeing this long-anticipated movie was SO worth it.

I was surprisingly pleased by how much the movie stayed true to the book. All of the key elements of the storyline were included. The set design, costumes, script and acting were incredible. I LOVED it. While I was a little bummed that the scene where Skeeter and her parents go to dinner at Stuart’s house from the book was not included in the movie, I really can’t think of anything else I didn’t like.

Octavia Spencer (Minny) gave an emotionally moving performance and Emma Stone (Skeeter) and Bryce Dallas Howard (Hilly) are well on their way to Oscars. One of the things I appreciated most was the casting. Each character was exactly how I pictured him or her in the book. Love it when that happens.

One more thing to note. Dad came along and loved it as well. If you know my Dad this is saying a lot. Considering that the book is by a woman and all about women and female relationships, I was surprised when he said he wanted to join. Typically, if you ask Dad to watch a movie with you, his deciding question is, “does anything blow up?” His only critique was that he would have liked to see more male characters who displayed the heroism and courage that the women did. Fair enough.

In all honesty, I was very disappointed to read that author, Kathryn Stockett is being sued by Ablene Cooper, who claims Stockett used her name and key details from her life in the book without her permission. You can read the full story here. After such a wonderful movie, this leaves a yucky taste in your mouth. Turns out Stockett could have learned something from Skeeter, the author in the book, about honesty and ethics. Bummer.

This is a must-see summer flick. You will laugh, you will cry and you will be inspired to be a better person.

I give the movie a 10/10.

I give author Kathryn Stockett a 5/10. Boo! Nobody likes a cheater.