Tags

, , ,

 

Today was a hard day. I formally resigned from my job. This might actually be the single most difficult thing I’ve ever had to do. Unfortunately, my medical condition still has me in so much pain that it’s not possible for me to work right now. It breaks my heart because I genuinely love PR and looked forward to going to work each day. I miss my team, the work and the daily challenges and resulting lessons. My boss and the agency has been outstanding in supporting me through the last year and I will be forever grateful for their graciousness.

This blog is about the “life of a your PR pro,” which is why I’m choosing to share this with you despite being a very private person. I hope that by sharing my experience, someone else might benefit.

I never imagined that this is how the first year of my professional life would have turned out. I’m a planner and continuously set short and long-term goals. Having the rug pulled out from under me is a very helpless feeling.

While I’m still in the midst of this struggle, I’ve already learned that you can’t take anything for granted in life. It can all be snatched away in an instant. I’m learning to take each day for what it is and accept the circumstances that I’ve been given. I trust that I’m in this season of struggle for a reason, even though I just don’t see it yet.

As I take some time to focus on my health and recovery, I thank you in advance for your understanding and support.