1. New Years is a perfect opportunity for reflection. A time to reflect on the year that’s passed and be grateful for its many blessings. It is also a time to look ahead to the upcoming year, which can be dangerous for an obsessive planner like me.

2. One of my New Year’s resolutions will be to be more content. (Come back New Year’s Day to see my full list of resolutions.) As mentioned above, I’m a planner. I’m talking “color code your to-do list and rank in order of importance,” kind of planner. While I do think being a planner is a wonderful gift, (for which I’m very grateful) I’ve had a lot of time to think lately and I think that I’ve taken it a bit too far. OK, maybe waaaaay too far. Somewhere along the way, I’ve lost spontaneity and that is something I would really like to do more of in 2012.

3. A New Year’s resolution I’ve made in the past was to get fit! Haven’t we all? It’s really a silly resolution, in my opinion. This past year has also taught me the importance of overall health. So while I do intend to rock my Lilly bikini this summer, my priority is my health, not a certain size or a number on the scale.

4. The most time consuming resolution I ever made was…well other than the the resolution mentioned above, I’ve never formally made a list of resolutions.

5. This year I will be spending New Year’s Eve in a very different way. I’ll be at home with my parents. We normally are in Seattle for New Year’s Eve at our dearest friend’s house. My childhood BFF‘s family, The Barrett Family, and my family are very close. She has two brothers and I love them as though they were my own. Her mother is one of my mother’s best friends and her dad is one of my dad’s best friends. It’s a very unique relationship for which we are all very grateful. The Barrett Family is full of fanatical foodies. Mama Barrett’s birthday falls on December 31st, so there’s a big New Year’s Eve/birthday party that evening. Half a dozen or so couples are seated around a historic and long wooden table. Is a wonderful group and we’ve all become dear friends. Last year was the first year the kids (me and the Barrett kids) got to sit at the “grown-up table.” BIG move. The wine is poured and a five-course meal begins. Each year a question is posed for discussion. Last year’s question was, “Who had the greatest impact on your life this year?” Each person takes roughly 30 minutes to answer. Ages at the table range from 18-85. Naturally, this process of eating, drinking, sharing and reflecting usually takes +6 hours. When the clock strikes midnight, we gather around the piano and sing “Great is Thy Faithfulness,” while my bestie plays piano. It is simply a beautiful evening. Unfortunately, due to my health, we will not be able to attend this year. Looking forward to next year though!

6. If I could wish one thing for my new year it would be for a full recovery. I am so tired of being in pain. I miss my job, I miss being a normal 23-year-old and all the fun that comes with that. I wish for my life to simply return to normal.

7. 2012 is going to be a year that is entirely out of my hands. And I’m OK with that. I’m grateful for what 2011 has taught me and I wait hopefully for what 2012 will bring.

If you want to play along, go link up with Lauren.