Tags

, ,

Have you heard of Lennon and Maisy? If not, meet Lennon, 12, and Maisy, 8. If The Civil Wars had children, I dream they’d sound like this. Sweet, soulful and these girls are still young enough to need a babysitter. Crazy. They are so cute and their voices and musical talent leaves me with goosebumps.

Last Wednesday, their mother uploaded “Call your girlfriend,” to YouTube and at the time this blog was posted, the video is well over 2 million views.

Take a listen.

This one is a Robyn cover, “Call your girlfriend.” This one is my personal favorite. The harmonies are out of this world. I can’t stop hitting “repeat.”

Now that you’re impressed, let me just put that over the top. Lennon shows off her mad guitar skills in this tune. Here’s “I won’t give up” by Jason Mraz.

Lastly, “When Your Minds Made Up,” The Swell Season cover, is also worth a listen. This video in particular reminds us of their age as little Maisy fidgets in the background. Then again, remember that she is 7-years-old.

Upon further research, I found that Maisy plays both the guitar and the ukelele. Also, not surprised to learn that they were both raised (or rather are being raised) on a farm without a television.

Dear Stella Girls, when you make an album, I will buy it. When you come to play at the Aladdin Theater in Portland, I will buy tickets and make a “Girl’s Night Out,” of it. I’m so looking forward to seeing what’s next for these talented little ladies.

You can also find The Stella Sisters on their new Twitter account.