Tags

, ,

Summer has finally arrived in Oregon and I for one couldn’t be more thrilled about it. I’m looking forward to being out this year, since last summer was spent entirely in bed on pain killers. Here’s to a better summer!

The parents and I went into the city on Friday to visit our friend’s new baby Noah. The view from their rooftop terrace was incredible.

While we were in the city, we stopped in to peruse the Brooks Brothers summer sale and I scored on these adorbs seeksucker shorts. Perfect for our upcoming trip to DC.

 

Saturday and Sunday afternoons were spent swimming at our local lake. When it’s 80 degrees or hotter, I need to be parked next to a body of water. So we swam, played cards, ordered pizza and enjoyed time with our friends.

I’m so grateful to live in such a beautiful place. A friend recently told me it reminded him of “Pleasantville.” Even though it can be a little bit of a bubble, there’s something to be said for low crime, excellent schools and beautiful surroundings.

Now that it’s Monday, it’s back to work, which is quite a task as I am leaving this week to go to DC for a dear friend’s wedding. Thankfully, the weather is still gorgeous, so I’m able to be productive outside.

While I’m in DC, I’m going to be meeting with several admissions counselors from grad schools I’m considering for a masters in public affairs. At this point, I’m not 100 percent sure if it’s going to be a good investment in my future. It is really expensive and I just want to make sure I get a good return on my investment. What do you think? Did you go to grad school? Was it worth it? I’ve heard from some people that a master’s degree can actually hinder you in the job hunt when you’re in your early 20s. I’d love to hear any advice you may have.