Tags

, , ,

 

 

I’ve been thinking lately about entitlement. As the picture above shows, we often think that if we work hard, we deserve success.

When I got sick last year, I felt like the rug was pulled out from under me.

I did everything right. I went to a good school, studied hard, got an internship every summer and every school year. When I graduated, I had the perfect job lined up. I had been responsible, done the right thing and I felt that that somehow entitled me to something.

Fast forward a year and a half. While my health is improving, I’m still recovering and some days are worse than others. Occasionally, my day is totally unplugged. This explains my sporadic posts. My apologies.

The truth of the matter is that I don’t deserve anything. None of us do. I’m not entitled to anything. Every morning that I wake up and breathe is a gift. Life is a gift. How easy it is to forget this.