Tags

, , , ,

Source: chasing-brighter-days.tumblr.com via 尚虹 on Pinterest

As a communications professional, words mean a great deal to me. I tend to have a heightened awareness to words. Sometimes it’s difficult for me to not get distracted or hung up on improper use of a word.

I try my best to think before I speak because I believe that communication, whether personal or professional is powerful.

Over the past year and a half that I’ve been struggling through health issues, I’ve thought a lot about the things that people say to you when you’re sick or suffering.

One common phrase I heard a lot was, “I’m sorry.” When people said this, I often thought, “Me too! Being in pain is miserable.” It struck me as a funny thing to say. Maybe that’s just me.

I came across this interview with Mindy Lockard, aka “The Gracious Girl,” on KPTV and wanted to share it with you all. I think she does a perfect job discussing this common phrase and gives some tips and warnings for when we do use it.

KPTV – FOX 12