Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year dear readers! Whew! What a holiday season that was. More on that later this week. For now, I wanted to share with you some articles that have caught my eye recently.

What have you been reading lately?

weeklyreading

10 Questions You Must Ask When Hiring a Social Media Consultant
This article was intended for employers; however, I find it immensely helpful for those looking to be employed for social media skills. You could just as easily title it, “10 Questions You Should Expect to Hear at an Interview for a Social Media Job.” Click here for the article.

Why The PGA Wants You to Get Golf Ready
Do you golf? My Dad’s been wanting to learn to play and he’s convinced me to join him in lessons this Spring. After reading this article, I’m even more excited to learn. Turns out there are professional benefits as well!

I Won’t Hire People Who Use Poor Grammar. Here’s Why.
As a grad from The University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication, I learned about the importance of proper grammar every day for four years. Truth. Nevertheless, no one is perfect and I do the best I possibly can when it comes to proper grammar. (Side note: If you ever spy improper grammar on this blog, you have my permission to call me out.) When applying for a job, you can’t double check that cover letter enough. You’d better do it one more time. Why? Because there are folks like the author of this article who are hiring.

The Office Life: Setting Career Goals
If you’ve been reading this blog for at least five minutes, you know that I’m type-A, which means I’m an obsessive planner, list-maker and goal-setter. In all honesty, this character trait was once completely unrestrained. After two years of illness, I’m pleased to say I’m much more relaxed and willing to accept what life throws at me. Now, that doesn’t mean I’ve jumped off the goal-setting bus! Here is a great article that breaks down how to set goals and meet them.

Guarantee Your Next Video Chat A Professional Success

Even though this article isn’t new, I think it’s wisdom is timeless. I’ve personally had two Skype interviews in the past year and each time struggled with what to wear. This article has some great tips and I encourage you to check it out.

$47,000 Inauguration Package Includes ‘Twitter Butler’
Ever heard of a “Social Media Butler?” Well, that’s what is included in an exclusive $47,000 inauguration package at the Madison Hotel in Washington D.C. and that doesn’t even include tickets to the inauguration or any of the parties! Check out this article from CNBC for the details.