Tags

, , , , ,

Last weekend was my 25th birthday. Initially, I was a little hesitant about the celebration. Not only was it my birthday, but it was also the two year anniversary of when my health crisis began.

Last year, I wished I was well enough to have a party and dreamt of how lovely it could be. This year we really went above and beyond! Friends, family and neighbors gathered and the evening was full of glitter, cupcakes, macrons, champagne, Lilly, chocolates and PINK!

It was everything I could have wished for and more.

See for yourself:

khrodeyIMG_5005

See the pennant banner above? I made it, with paper from last year’s Lilly calendar. Mom and I even made the pink pom poms. They’re actually quite easy.

IMG_5017IMG_4993

Picking out macrons at Nuvrei.

Picking out macrons at Nuvrei.

IMG_5124

Me and my cousin preparing some of the treats

Me and my cousin preparing some of the treats

Blessed to have lovely friends

Blessed to have lovely friends

The parents

The parents. Adorable as ever.

Love this little man

Love this little man

The following day my family and I went to my favorite place in Portland for brunch, Mother’s Bistro.

If we all look tired in these pics, it’s because we were! My birthday fell on Sunday, so after the party the night before, we had church the next morning and I only had four hours of sleep. Whew!

Mimosas and cake

Mimosas and cake

The mother and Grandma Lee

The mother and Grandma Lee

Cousin, uncle and aunt

Cousin, uncle and aunt

Enjoying a cupcake with my cutie patootie friend

Enjoying a cupcake with my cutie patootie friend

I’m so very blessed to have such a wonderful community of love and support. I’m still reveling in the enormity of it all. We’re not meant to do life alone. We need community.

These last two years were miserable and filled with pain. Now that I’m starting to come out the other end, I’m just so grateful for the support I’ve had.

Celebrating my birthday and beginning a new year was just what I needed.

A reminder of the sweet things in life.

A fresh start.