Tags

, , , , , ,

Year to year my outlook on Valentine’s Day changes. Sometimes I’m totally into in and others I find myself alone home, watching a rom com and having popcorn and wine for dinner.

A couple weeks ago, I wasn’t really looking forward to this day, in all honesty, I was dreading it.

This year, I decided to focus on what I do have instead of what I don’t. I have a lot of love in my life including dear friends and family.

I began my day with a brunch with my dear friends Millie, Mary-Anne and her sweet son Rowan. He’s basically the love of my life. Also, these two girls are married so it was an added treat to get a slice of their Vday.

We had a lovely meal of pancakes, waffles, omelets and mimosas (of course!) It was perfectly perfect in every way. My friendships with these two are so important to me. I truly believe that we aren’t mean to do life alone. We’re designed to live in community and I’m incredibly blessed to have these three in mine.

IMG_1532Notice Millie’s nails above. Totes adorbs.

IMG_1535Cheers to love and friendship!

IMG_1536IMG_1546Me (Auntie Krhodes) with Rowan.
IMG_1551Auntie Millie with Rowan.

IMG_1553Rowan, Millie, Me and Mary-Anne

This year Vday fell on the first day of Lent. For me, the timing is perfection. As a Christian, Lent is important for me because it helps me to stop, pause and prepare for Easter.

This year, I’m fasting from shopping.

I’m totally serious. If you know me, you know this is a huge sacrifice.

Here’s the thing: I have everything I need.

Sure there are things that I want, but I have everything I need. For the next 40 days, I’m pledging to not only fast from shopping, but also, to focus on what I do have.

SO many blessings.

Did I mention that Kate Spade’s new brand Saturday launched a pop-up shop today? Of course it did, on the second day of Lent. Sigh. One day down, 39 to go.

Tonight I’m sleeping over at my Grandma Lee’s house. On the schedule is watching Gone with the Wind to prepare for our upcoming trip to the south. (More on that later.)

Happy Valentine’s Day dear readers!

Hope you had a LOVEly day.