Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_2933Last Thursday marked one month at my new job. The good news is that I finally feel like my head has started to stop spinning.

I’m getting to know my teammates better and because of that, we’re working better together. Coming into a new job with a new team and a new boss is always a big adjustment. Understanding your boss’ style, especially when it comes to writing is always a steep learning curve. The good news is that I truly enjoy the company of the people I work with. In addition to that, it’s just plain fun running into friends (students and faculty) in the middle of my work day.

My job is wonderful for many reasons, but the one I’m most grateful for is the flexibility. If it weren’t for that, I don’t think I’d be able to be back to work yet.

That being said, it’s still an incredible adjustment. It was just a matter of months ago that I was laying in bed in pain all day. Now I’m working full-time. And not just at a new job, but at a whole new position for my department. There’s a lot to do both on a daily basis and long term. I’m doing my best to take deep breaths and take it one day at a time. What’s also important is learning to make my to-do list for the following day, get up, walk away and go home at the end of every day. Learning to leave my work at work is challenging, but something I need to improve upon.

One of the other reasons that I love my job is the community on campus, but among the students and among the faculty and staff. There is a genuine community of gracious individuals, who while working hard, take time to talk and care for one another. I’ve never experienced anything like it in the work-force. It takes a little getting used to, but it’s wonderful. When a colleague passes you in the hallway and asks how you’re doing, they stop and legitimately care to hear the answer. Amazing.

While my migraines still come, I’m somehow able to have this amazing job. I don’t totally understand it.

I’m left with one overwhelming feeling, gratitude.