Tags

, , , , , ,

We’ve all been there. You stayed up too late watching Netflix and now it’s suddenly morning and your alarm is blaring and you’re thinking, “No, just ten more minutes pleeeeeeese.” You close your eyes for what feels like just a moment and when you open them again, you glance at the clock and fifteen minutes has passed. In a panic, you jump out of bed. Now what?

How do you get ready for work in a flash?

Here are some of my go-to tips.

Dry Shampoo: First take a rinse in the shower. Don’t wash your hair. You don’t have time. Dry shampoo is your best friend in the morning. My favorite brand is Dove. First I straighten my hair. When I’m short on time, I just straighten the pieces framing my face. Next, I spray dry shampoo right on my roots and massage it into my hair with the palm of my hand. Let me tell you all, it’s magic. Once you try it, you’ll make sure your cabinet is always stocked.

rby-dove-refresh-care-invigorating-dry-shampoo-lgnSpin pins: I’ve posted about spin pins (by Goody) before on Instagram and per the request of some of my followers, here’s how I use them. First gather your hair into a ponytail and secure with a thin ponytail holder. Next, twist your hair and wrap it around the holder, forming a bun. Then, while holding the bun in place, insert one of the spin pins, twisting it like a corkscrew into the bun. Repeat with the other pin, inserting it from the opposite side of the bun. Refer to the picture below. Finish with hairspray and extra bobby pins if necessary. Once you do it a couple times, you’ll get better at it and you won’t need so many extra little bobby pins.

how-to

Here’s what mine looked like this morning. It doesn’t have to be perfect, but it is certainly more put together than a traditional messy bun. It shows a little effort.

photo

Tinted moisturizer: I use tinted moisturizer every morning and it really cuts down on my total make-up routine time. My favorite is by Serious Skincare. Yep, it’s from HSN. I don’t care where it’s from. This stuff really works.

Screen shot 2013-10-04 at 10.20.37 PM

Wear a dress: This seems so silly and simple, but choosing to wear a dress will save you time. It’s a whole outfit in one. You eliminate the whole “staring at your closet like you’ve never seen it before” thing. You know what I’m talking about. Zoning out totally unable to pair blouses with skirts or trousers. Make is simple. Wear a dress.

Going forward, take some steps to plan ahead. The night before, I suggest making your lunch, taking a shower and laying out your clothes. But even with the best of intentions we all have those mornings when we’re rushing out the door.

What are your tips?

How do you cut time in the morning?