Tags

, , , ,

1f7c1ac9e0b975d05fa2209335380b5b

This is something that I’ve been working on for quite some time now. Looking back now, I see how crazy I was in college, a bit of a Paris Geller, to be honest.

*Sans the hooker reference of course.

I thought everything in life was meant to be full steam ahead, take no prisoners and nothing, I mean nothing is acceptable unless it’s perfect. See what I mean about being crazy.

I used to dread the common ice-breaker question at school or in an interview, “What do you do for fun?” I’d think, “Get a head-start on my homework?” “Tutor?” “Work at the UO’s student-run PR agency?” Yikes is right.

Today, I’d say I’m in the process of learning how to loosen up a bit and the dreaded “R” word, relax.

I’ve had a four-day weekend this week due to mid-semester break at Multnomah (working at a university is amazing, for SO many reasons.) So, I’ve had four days to unwind, pause and relax.

Here are some ideas for relaxing while also being a young professional who’s always on the go.

Meditate. Over the past couple years I’ve been learning to meditate and I’ve got to tell you. I love it. A lot. It certainly takes practice, so if you are too distracted initially, don’t give up.

A good place to start is with a meditation app. I love “Simply Being.” It’s a great one to help clear your mind. I use it right before I go to bed.

Screen shot 2013-10-14 at 4.57.06 PM

Breathe deeply.
In addition to meditation. I do deep breathing exercises. Here’s my favorite one.
Screen shot 2013-10-14 at 5.15.23 PM

Drink tea. My new favorite is Honey Lavender by Yogi. Put on a pair of cozy sweats and socks, your college sweatshirt and curl up with a hot cup of tea. No music. No TV. Just you, your tea and silence. Enjoy each and every sip.
Screen shot 2013-10-14 at 5.06.26 PM

Go for a walk.
This morning I went for a walk and I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful it was. The sun was shinning bright as the crisp cool air brushed past my face and the dry leaves crunched beneath my feet. Again, no music. No distractions. Just go outside and take in your surroundings.

How do you relax?


Share your tips in the comments below.