Tags

, , , , , , ,

1abdac64e771c1ca245c7422c4bbdec0

My life is controlled chaos right now. I’ve got so many things going on at work that I find myself longing for the weekend and when it comes, I soak up every minute of it.

To be fair, while there are a great many projects on my desk right now, I enjoy working on each of them. I also know that seasons come and go at work and this just happens to be a particularly crazy time.

At the end of this month, I will have been at my job for one year. I feel like the last year flew by. My job turned out to be not at all what I expected. It’s better.

The most challenging aspect has been directly managing projects where in the past I would have worked under someone who managed it. For example, my employer recently sponsored a golf tournament with key publics in coordination with a local radio station. I’ve gone with managers before to events like this, but running point was a first. That morning, I woke up and thought, “OK, I’ve never done this before, but I’ve seen other people do it many times. I have all the tools I need. Let’s go!” Then, at the end of the day I find myself driving home thinking, “Well, look at that! I didn’t screw that up at all!”

Ha!

The best part is that being thrust into these situations has taught me a tremendous amount. Now I look forward to next year, when I’ll know what to expect.

Last year when I wrote about going back to work, I wrote that I was jumping back in. I had no idea how true that would be. This job has been a lot like jumping or diving. Here’s what I know to be true about diving:

I know how to swim.

I’ve dove before.

It’s not that far.

There’s a ladder close by.

When I’m faced with a professional challenge, fear and doubt can easily creep in. What if I belly flop?! What if I hit my head? Sometimes I feel a little nervous to take it on by myself, but then I remind myself of the truth statements I can stand on:

I’ve been educated in the top PR program on the west coast.

I’ve seen other people do this many times before.

I’ve done this task with others successfully before, so there’s no reason I won’t be successful now.

I have a wonderful team who can support me when I need it.

I’m so grateful for my job and for all that I’ve learned in the last year. I’ve learned to trust my instincts, to access the area and then jump right on in! Don’t let fear dictate your actions. Trust yourself and trust your experience. You can do it! Jump!