Tags

, , , ,

This week, while scouring Pinterest, I came across this image.

f4fee40929ff27bfd378f605df0313e7

First, let’s talk about these flowers. I mean WOW. I heart pink peonies. Like big time.

Now, for the legit part. What’s stunning to me is that some people actually buy into this statement. If you’re wondering what the problem with this, allow me to explain.

Let’s say for a moment that this is wisdom and truth to be followed. If that were true the world would revolve around me. I’d do whatever I want whenever I want. My best interest would come before anyone else’s. Do what makes me feel good? Shopping buys me happiness. So do doughnuts. So do weekends when I don’t have to work. Also, I love sleeping in. So maybe I should just sleep in instead of going to work. If someone hurts my feelings, I’d peace out on the friendship instead of having a confrontation. What if driving 20 miles over the speed limit made me happy?

Here’s the reason why this doesn’t work. Life takes courage. Courage to do the right thing. Doing the right thing is rarely easy. I’d argue that life can bring you joy and joy and happiness are two vastly different things.

Happiness is what I feel when the Ducks win. Joy is what I have when I think about how blessed I am to have such a wonderful family. It’s something that grows and is more permanent.

Being kind, gracious, generous and selfless is not easy, but it’s what we need to be if we are to have a beneficial and functioning society.

Imagine for a moment the world, full of selfish people. It’s actually terrifying isn’t it? what would become of the poor, the sick, the hungry, the needy?

So to this ridiculous statement surrounded by incredibly beautiful flowers, I say, what a piece of you know what.