Tags

, , , ,

I recently celebrated my one-year work anniversary. I decided to celebrate in two ways.

First, I treated myself to something lovely. This oh-so-perfect Kate Spade bag. I’ve been wanting a Kate Spade bag for years, so when they just happened to have a flash sale the week of my anniversary, I thought it must be fate. I love it. So classic, so beautiful. When it came in the mail, I squealed and continue to be so impressed with the quality.

Kate Spade Magnolia Park Laurel

Kate Spade Magnolia Park Laurel

Second, I took my parents out to dinner. They are the two most incredible people. I’m so ridiculously blessed that they are my parents. Through all my health struggles in the last few years, they have been right there beside me the whole way. They are so loving and so supportive. I couldn’t have done the last year without them. Also, I had a blast spoiling them.

We went to Nostrana, an EPIC restaurant we had heard about from a friend and fellow food snob and it far exceeded our expectations. Dad and I had pizza, which sounds simple, but OMG, when done right, it’s out of this world. First, they served bread with olive oil that made me feel like I’ve never tasted olive oil before that moment. (Obviously, we bought some to take home and have since done extensive research on olive varieties and which olive oils are the best in the world.) My pizza was cooked in a wood-fired oven and the dough, oh the dough. Just thinking about it gets me giddy. It was an outstanding meal and I can’t wait until I can go back.

IMG_4761

Yes, this is a picture of me cutting my pizza with scissors. The pizzas were served with scissors and our server explained that when the owner was in Italy, she went to a restaurant that served pizza like this and she loved the idea so much, she implemented it in her own restaurant. Quite the experience!

I’m a big believer in treating yourself. Especially when it comes to professional accomplishments.

This last year has been a bit of a whirlwind, but I’ve learned so much, been stretched further than I thought I could withstand and still succeeded. Each day I find myself loving my job more and more and for that I couldn’t be more grateful.