Tags

, , , , , ,

WeeklyReadingWorkbook: Artsy’s LARA BJÖRK Models 5 Perfect Office Outfits
How-to dress for work is an ongoing, ever relevant conversation among professionals, especially young professionals. Alia, blogger and correspondent for ELLE has a wonderful new series on the 9-to-5 style of professional women around the world. This outfit series is a particular favorite.

How-To Start A Professional Wardrobe in College
For my dear readers who are still in college, I realize that the prospect of building a professional wardrobe can be daunting. This article by LEVO League outlines some great first steps. The real secret is that it takes time. I’m still in the process of building my wardrobe and weeding out items from my college days. Every now and then I find something in my dresser from college and wonder why I still have it when I obviously haven’t needed it since then. Once you’re out of college, you’ll find that it’s important to buy pieces that can do double-duty, meaning buy a shirt that you can wear with a pencil skirt or a pair of jeans.

Pro Tips: Makeup For Your Next Big Event
These tips from Emily are fantastic. I used the concealer tip this morning in fact and let me tell you, it worked! I’ve always dreamed of having my makeup done by a professional, so I totally loved this insight from someone who’s had her makeup done professionally many times.

Legendary ‘Washington Post’ Editor Ben Bradlee Has Died
We lost a good one this week. A legend. A groundbreaking journalist and American. Ben Bradley made The Washington Post the institution that it is. This is largely because he was the managing editor during the Watergate Scandal which (of course) led to the resignation of President Nixon. He was a remarkable professional and a true trailblazer. I heard this story on NPR on my morning commute this week and learned so much! Just had to share it with you.