Tags

,

11021121_10101886811556426_4210306456939709857_n

I’ve been thinking a lot about courage lately. Sometimes I envision courage as something heros have, like soldiers or emergency first responders, not something that I could ever have, but I think I’m wrong. While the people I mentioned certainly do have courage, I think we all have it in us too.

We all have courage and the capacity to overcome incredible obstacles. In the last four years of living with chronic pain, I’ve learned a lot about suffering. Most of the time, courage is simply getting up and being willing to start a new day. Because of this season of my life, I have a heightened awareness of myself, my weaknesses, my strengths and also what I’m capable of. What I’ve learned is that I’m capable of far more than I could have ever imagined. In fact, I believe we all are.

We are all more brave, more courageous and more resilient than we think we are.

I see that our 20s are certainly a time of figuring this out. We start careers, we get married, have children, learn to raise children, we change jobs, we move, we lose friends and we gain new ones. It’s a time of testing and a time of incredible growth, all while trying to figure out who we are and what we want in life.

So go do that thing you don’t think you’re brave enough to do.

You can do it. You can do anything. You’ve got what it takes.

Be brave.

Here’s the tricky part: You might step out and do something you’ve always wanted and you might fail. Here’s where courage comes in. In my experience, courage is doing something brave even though you know you might fail. If you have an opportunity for bravery and don’t act on it, you’ll never know. You may not think that you can move to a new country, but you can! You may be questioning if you’ll be able to be a good mother to that kicking baby inside you, you can! You may be wondering how you can go for that dream job, but you can! Our 20s are a time of great change and success amidst change requires courage.

Take a deep breath, center yourself and be courageous.

You CAN do it.