Tags

, , ,

Oh my word. I had no idea what I was in for. When I woke up Sunday morning at 5:30 a.m., I checked activity on social media surrounding the Lilly Pulitzer for Target event on. I jumped out of bed, hopped in the shower and got ready. I donned a Lilly outfit from head to toe (of course) and woke up my Dad. (Very key component. This needed a team.)

The week before I went online and took screen shots of the items I wanted, arranged them by category (women’s clothing, outdoor entertaining, accessories, etc.) and printed them out.

Target was set to open at 8 a.m. and we arrived at 7:20 a.m. to find two people already in line. I was third. Whew! The fourth woman arrived and we all began to talk about our love for Lilly. In all honestly, it was a really fun bonding moment. Twenty minutes later, 15-20 people arrived. The four of us in the front decided we needed a plan and before I knew it, someone suggested an alliance. “Like Survivor!” I exclaimed. We all agreed and before I knew it, we formed an alliance. Here was the plan-Go in and grab as much as you can, all that you want and then some. Then, after you’ve collected, meet in the men’s department (set aside and away from the crowds) and go over our items. Anything we didn’t want, or clothes that didn’t fit, we committed to giving or trading to one another.

I handed my dad his shopping list and I had mine. We went over the prioritized items. Eight o’clock came and the doors flew open and suddenly I was running. Why? Because everyone behind me was running and I was not about to let them beat me. I grabbed a bag from accessories and darted to the women’s clothing section. There were two racks. Two racks! That’s it! It was complete mayhem. I remember seeing a darling button-up that was on my list and there were less than 10 of them on the rack and several women just ran and grabbed at them until only an XXL was left. I looked around and just grabbed everything in my size. My shopping list went out the window. Adrenaline was running high. I went into the dressing room and tried on my items. Score! They fit! I came out of the dressing room to find the ladies in my alliance gathering in the men’s section. As I walked over, I spotted my dad strolling down the aisle, calm as day with…a basket overflowing with home items! MVP of the sale ladies and gents goes to my amazing daddy!

The ladies in my alliance and I gathered and went over our items. Anything we didn’t want we offered to the group or placed in an extra basket up for grabs to alliance members. One woman so generously gave me a set of printed drinking glasses so I could have a set of eight.

In addition to my alliance, my other strategy was to wait outside of the dressing room to get first dibs on go-backs. That’s how I scored my maxi dress. A girl walked out with it over her arm, telling her mom it didn’t fit her. I asked about the size and asked if I could have it and she graciously said yes! Confession: I was so happy I asked if I could hug her and she obliged. I thankfully got most of what I wanted and then some, but it really did take a strategy and a polite yet  determined attitude.

A Lilly Lady is kind, gracious, patient, poised and is always a class-act. This is why I was so sad to see some truly rude behavior at the sale. One woman in my alliance said that while she turned to look at something else, another shopper stole something out of her cart! Not OK. I thankfully made it out unharmed and didn’t have any items taken.

Here are some of my favorite pieces I came out with.

Cloth napkins

Cloth napkins

Throw pillow

Throw pillow

Lunch plates

Lunch plates

Strapless maxi

Strapless maxi

Drink stirrers

Drink stirrers

Resort pants

Resort pants

Printed glasses

Printed glasses

Did you go to the sale? What was your strategy?